Bored People Are Boring

Standard

I forgot where I read that, but that little quote has always stuck with me, especially when I am bored. I feel like I’m 9 years old, whining to my mother on summer break: “I’m BORED. There’s nothing to do!” Usually that sort of makes me laugh, and then I force myself to go do something so I’m not a totally lazy, whiny, boring person.

However, what the hell with this summer? It has been miserable hot, with nary a drop of rain since June 2. The weather is giving me serious cabin fever, because I can’t tolerate this heat. I’m a fragile, fair-skinned redhead, prone to heat exhaustion and other-worldly sunburn. Being locked up indoors might seem wonderful, considering I do have central air-conditioning. Yet, the upstairs where the sewing machine lives, it is unbelievable. So hot, so moist, so un-creativity-inspiring. I can do about 15 minutes of sewing before I need to press a seam, and there’s no damn way on earth I’m plugging the iron in after 9 a.m.

There’s been no hiking, no walking the dog, no canoe trips, no camping, no napping in the fold-out lawn chair, no eating outdoors, nor trips to the lake. All the things that make summer great! I live in Michigan, people, not Georgia! Why is it so f’ing hot? Whine, moan, rant, feeling bored and cranky, and everyone else is at work while I’m just sitting here waiting to be entertained or for inspiration to strike, blah blah blah.

THEN: ta-da! It rained. It rained, friends. It rained and rained and rained, and finally stopped just in time to not leak into the basement. Glorious, cooling rain.

You know it’s going to be 100 on Monday again, when I plan to be camping. But today it is perfect. Wet, overcast, and cool out. Got to unplug here and go run that iron.

5 responses »

  1. Are you sure you aren’t living here in SC? Sounds like we have the very same weather. It’s been so hot here that the lake is too warm! it’s like being in a bathtub ugh. I mean we have fish DIEING because the warm water doesn’t hold enough oxygen. Hope we all get another break real soon.

  2. My friend and I finally found a day to go to Lake Michigan. It was only 79 degrees. However it ended up being a great day. The air was moist and the sky was overcast, not a peep from the sun. Perfect! Who knew?

What do you think?

