Let the Games Begin

Standard

It’s a miracle I remembered to wear something appropriate for Self-Stitched September. After two doctor appointments, a weekend at Stitches Midwest, and a week of having my parents visit, all within a 9-day period of time, my brain was a little fried. But remember, I did!

On September 1 I wore my beloved Sew Serendipity skirt. I love this skirt and get multiple compliments whenever I wear it out of the house. Well, I gloat and compliment myself whenever I stay home too.  It’s just that great of a pattern!

sweet pockets

Top: Thrifted Mossimo blouse; Shoes: Dr. Scholl’s Walmart sandals.

September 2

Top: Simplicity 2255 made from a swiss dot patterned fabric. The not-quite polka dots are gray, fuschia and orange. Love the pattern, but I need to make the shoulder narrower. I raised the waist and added width around the middle.

I'm ready for my close-up!

My jean capris are from the Target clearance rack. My shoes are Teva flip-flops and are just about the only shoes I can wear comfortably anymore.

Can you take one more?

September 3 I wore my self-drafted Yellow Patchwork Skirt, blogged here. I also modified the Old Navy blouse by substantially shortening it (maybe a little too much).

So far I am really having fun thinking about what I am going to wear. And I’m talking up the SSS with my knitting friends. Maybe we’ll plan a self-stitched knitting event locally, but it should probably happen in December, when everyone is ready to pull out scarves, mittens and hats. Until then, I’m gonna squeeze every bit of summer out of my sewn wardrobe that I can!

What do you think?

