Oooo, Monkey Like Shiny

Standard

First, the SSS check-in. Yesterday I wore my Lacy Baktus over a ready-to-wear blouse and jeans.

Today I am wearing my white peasant blouse under a cardigan from Kohl’s.

What is this shot? "Oh my, Rhett Butler! I do declare!"

Ok, now onto the real meat of this post.

I’m very easily distracted lately, and not in a good way. Where is my mind? I don’t know. I feel like I’m being the same thorough person as always, but in this month I have done things both harmless (e.g., leaving the house without hair product by mistake) and dangerous (e.g., cutting off other drivers I did not see. Twice.) I am making myself nervous.

I’m also just flat-out distracted by all the blog reading I have been doing. I’m sure others have been in this boat. There are so many wonderful ideas out there, so many pretty things to look at, so many funny people to follow. But I realize I am not actually *doing* anything myself.

I have several excuses such as the following:

  • My craft room is a little torn up and will become more torn up when the energy auditor comes to add insulation in the attic.
  • I need new ideas, just another 10 minutes online.
  • I only have  _____ amount of time before I have to ______________.  I could never get anything done in that short time!
  • My son needs my attention.
  • I have all these errands to take care of.

But the truth is, I am just allowing myself to be distracted. I need to hunker down, set a timer for computer-related fun, make a list, and start getting ‘er done. The less I do and the more I sit, the more I realize, I am a little depressed, lethargic, listless, distracted. Without a set of goals, I am rudderless and just too easily pulled off task.

I also found out this week that the one and only pair of dress pants I kept during the closet purge, well, it doesn’t fit either. So I had an event to attend tonight, and I had nothing to wear. I could not even motivate to go buy a pair of pants! I wore something that was good enough — not fabulous. I am going to use the opportunity to clarify my sewing goals.

So, here are my tasks for the week:

  1. Review sewing/wardrobe plan to include business-appropriate clothes.
  2. Buy some business-appropriate pants material and a pattern.
  3. Pick out a new knitting project.
  4. Compile a list with Husband of all the home-related chores, errands, and projects that need accomplished.
  5. Make an appointment to get my eyes checked.
What do you think?

