I’m Blushing. And Tardy.

Standard

Several weeks ago, the lovely Seraphinalina honored me by giving me the Versatile Blogger award! How sweet is that? Unfortunately I was sick for a long time, so I am just now getting around to responding.

The rules are as follows: 1.  Compose a short dedication to the person who gave you the award. 2. Write a list for your readers, detailing things about yourself that your readers don’t know. 3. Pass the love forward to five bloggers that you feel deserve to receive it too.

Okey doke. I think I can follow those rules, though I don’t tend to be a good rule follower. Oh, look, we already started with Rule #2! (I guess we are gonna do this thing ass over tea kettle, starting in random order, to prove my point.)

1. I am not a good rule follower. I jay walk. I routinely say, “That’s stupid!” when reading through pattern instructions (I’m not recommending this course of action). When I first moved to the same city as my now-husband, he showed me all the important sights, which naturally included the library. Before I could get a library card, I was handed a list of rules, including, you know, not stealing books or fornicating in the restroom. I had to read the list, and then sign that I “agreed to abide by all rules.” This was my undoing. Every time I am required to follow rules I don’t care to follow (Hello! I am going to put money on the Free Parking spot in the Monopoly game), dear husband whips out a “remember, you promised to abide by ALL rules.”

Not to tarnish the reputation of the good library, but I think they could have been a little more specific in their contract. Let the buyer beware! Still, if ever you get the chance to visit Anchorage, and if you love libraries, do yourself a favor and visit the Z.J. Loussac Library. With a name like that, it would be wrong not to. This leads us to…

2. I lived in Alaska for a short time. I moved there from Madison, Wisconsin, on December 15 one year. My friends all thought I was nuts to move there at all, but to go in the dead of winter? Insane. I had the last laugh: I called them a few days after my arrival to report (rub in) the fact that it was 50 degrees warmer in Anchorage than in Wisconsin. That is, 30+ degrees in Alaska vs. -20 in Madison.  (I spelled it out on the phone in case they misheard me: that’s Five-Zero degrees, not 15. I can be charming that way.)

3. I am sometimes a wee bit sarcastic.

4. I have never seen the following movies: Pretty Woman, Life of Brian, or American Pie (or a multitude of other movies apparently everyone else on earth has seen). I just checked Spinal Tap off the list last month.

5. I have a truly terrible memory. I have forgotten the names of my aunt and a good friend when trying to introduce them to others. There is no way on earth I can remember which direction a knitting “slip, slip, knit” leans. It’s very embarrassing when my knitting friends say, “Sandy will know how to do it; she’s almost done with her Master Knitter program, after all.” Good Lord, I can’t remember which one is my boy and which one is my dog, how the hell am I going to remember what SKP stands for? I am smart, but for the love of all things good in this world, do not confuse this with memory and choose me to be on your Trivial Pursuit team.

Ok, that is enough about me. Let’s skip to Rule #1. Dedication? Wow, that sounds so fancy! Seraphinalina is a delightful young woman who blogs about sewing, music, and the difficulties of conceiving. Sometimes sad, sometimes silly, always interesting. Go have a read.

And here we are at Rule #3, right at the end where it ought to be, no? I am going to choose blogs of people I am not friends with In Real Life. Passing the love to:

1. Stitch and Witter. Joanne is funny and clever, and she sews!

2. Did You Make That? Karen’s posts always make me smile. She is a great writer, funny, and a little bit wacky, which is high on my list of favorite attributes.

3. Making Rebecca Lynne. Oh, boy, has she got energy. She is mainly a quilter, and she always has projects in the hopper. She also runs Thursday Think Tank.

4. Sewn. This is a newer blog for me, but I love Elizabeth’s sewing adventures.

5. Handmade Jane. Lots of sewing going on over here. And a kindred spirit in the Mom department.

I’m not sure how these people will know I’ve tagged them if they don’t read this post, so someone give me some advice there, please.

 

 

 

5 responses »

  1. Yay! Thanks so much for the shout out.
    We have “Educating Sera” nights at our house where my husband introduces me to movies he doesn’t understand how I have not encountered yet. Movies have included the Alien franchise, The Thing, The Abyss, Terminator (he was very upset to find I had seen T2 but not the original Terminator), and other such ah, “boy” movies. That’s okay, I introduced him to Some Like it Hot, An Affair to Remember, The Apartment…
    I was tagged by Lazy Subcultrual Girl and I did see it myself, but she replied to one of my posts to let me know.

What do you think?

