Golden Drops of Sun

Standard

Oh how happy this makes me!

I can’t wait to finish and show you some proper photos.

I used the It’s Not a Drop pattern, paired with Studio June Super Cash Sock yarn in the amazing shade of A Drop of Golden Sun. Lovely!!

This week I have been in a terrific mood. The weather in Michigan has been unbelievable — 50+ degrees! And I have been cranking away at some goals.

1. The jeans. This is off the table, so I have mentally scratched this from my list.

2. The sweaters. I have been making some plans. I am going to copy a “robe” style sweater I bought years ago from Dress Barn, only I am going to turn the belt into a tab button. It looks kinda like this with riveted belt loops:

Image Detail

image from Undrest

The belt is cute, and it nips in my waist, but I’m always dragging it between my thighs, and I have to be very careful in the bathroom so the ends don’t end up in the toilet. I usually tuck the ends into the sweater to avoid this, but then I am afraid I will forget to untuck them when I am finished, and then I’ll be walking around in public with my tails tucked into my bosom. It’s ridiculous. I made up a swatch in a maroon colored Rowan Tweed. Details to follow.

3. We bought an exercise bike! It is being delivered and assembled today. I’m pretty stoked about that. I lost 7 pounds in the last 5 weeks, mainly due to working at my physical therapy and not eating loads of Christmas treats and desserts. I’m pretty happy about that. But it links back to #1, and sewing in general. I don’t know what size I’m going to end up at, so I don’t want to spend a lot of time and money on projects that I can’t wear for longer than 3 months.

So, henceforth we are not going to discuss #1 or 3 above. Here are some new thoughts:

  • Continue using up stash yarn. I have loads of single skeins I bought once upon a time because they were pretty. This is the year I am using them instead of just petting them. I am eyeballing several scarf patterns.
  • Make my Pay It Forward projects. I had been thinking about that this week, and then Seraphinalina wrote a post about it, which made me smile. I love when the Universe is in harmony.
  • Sort through my quilt projects because tomorrow is the Pajama Party at Shipshewana, and I want to stock up on fabrics (30% off!) to make some quilts. I’ll share photos of my loot next time!

2 responses »

  1. Very pretty work, it’s a lovely colour.

    Our weather has been rediculous. My crocuses are starting to poke out of the ground. They are going to be mighty disappointed when they find out it isn’t actually spring yet.

    And congratulations on the weight loss and exercise bike. I struggle with fitting exercising into my life. It is very easy to push it down the priority list, but it is important.

    Great minds think alike. 🙂

What do you think?