Can You See Me?

Standard

Image

I swear, I wasn’t going for a camouflage look. I hope it doesn’t come across that way.

This is Burda 7798, view B.

Mods:

1. In lieu of making a 10 to fit my shoulders and then doing a FBA, I made a size 16 and then sewed two of the darts 3/8″ deeper.

2. I cut the length by at least 5 inches.

3. I installed an invisible zipper in the side instead of center back. It turns out the top is large enough to slip over my head without even wiggling. I may go back and take some in at center front and back. Or I might go back in and scavenge the zipper. Probably I’ll leave it as is.

Image

I did not enjoy this fabric. It is polyester, and as such did not press well, so the seams all look rounded to me. I may go back and do some topstitching to flatten them. The armholes feel tight; the back seems tight when I reach forward. I seems plenty big, so I think it’s an armscye/sleeve issue.

Image

The neckline is a bit wide, so I feel like my brastraps are going to show, which will make me fuss with it when I wear it. I hate fussing with clothes.

I love the sleeves.

Image

And when I came downstairs to show it off, Husband looked up and said, “What is this? I *like* it.” He is not one to pour on the compliments, so I’ll take it.

3 responses »

  1. When you finally succeed in your hunt for The Perfect Bra you’ll be happy your straps are showing. So, there’s one less alteration you need to think about!

What do you think?

