Blog Skills

Standard

When I jumped into the blogging pool head first last fall, I quickly learned that I needed a whole new skillset. I was overwhelmed by everything I wanted to know, such as how to use software for drawing , editing photos, making storyboards and so on. Add to this the need to understand the blogging software, to learn better photography skills and how my particular camera works, and to just get back into the routine of writing regularly, and you can see why I felt like I was trying to drink from a firehose.

I decided to scale way back and just focus on one thing at a time. Deadlines are self-imposed, so there is no pressure to hurry up and be perfect. Does my blog looks slick and fancy the way I want it to? No. Am I cracking off great writing every time? No. Am I still super impatient and just slapping up unedited photos because I am giddy excited? Yup. But I’m getting better.

For Christmas I asked for a Gorilla tripod, and I got a teeny little one. Guess what? Today I used it for the first time. I am tired of waiting for Husband to get home from work, or trying to beat the sundown, or cajoling my dear child into photographing me. I feel snarky when my family takes what I consider to be less-than-great quality photos, when they have been kind enough to help me at all! But seriously, I want better photos. I decided I really need to get on this myself.

Too much light! Let’s move to the grass.

The tripod is great. I just screwed it into the bottom of my camera, and then yanked and twisted its little legs until it was holding the camera steady. I easily got it to hold the camera vertically too. I figured out how to use the self-timer, and away we went. So easy. I think the only thing holding me back before was that I can’t think of a really terrific spot inside my house where I can take well-lit, uncluttered photos. We have some dark rooms in this sweet house, and some cramped little hallways and rooms without places to set up a tabletop tripod. I am going to be more inspired now. Today was just too easy.

Today’s Me-Made item is my top, New Look 6179.

10 seconds…Ready, go!

I will learn that photo editing software soon, but I’m just not gonna pressure myself over that today.

One response »

  1. “I felt like I was trying to drink from a firehose” HAHAHAHA!!! The image is perfect! You crack me up! Your mad sewing skillz are awesome. How are you at alterations? LOL! Photo editing can be easy as most of them have an “Auto Correct” function that can fix color balance, contrast & brightness. But you are right, starting with an uncluttered, properly lit backdrop is key. You’ll get the hang of it. Just taks practice. Digital cameras are great! I’ve been meaning to get one of those tripods:)

What do you think?

