Catching a Cerulean Warbler

Standard

Today I got up at the crack of dawn to stalk a threatened species of bird, the Cerulean Warbler. The things we do for love, no? My husband is an avid birder who is a volunteer bird bander through the Kalamazoo Nature Center. As such, he was invited to watch (and assist) a research team in their CW banding project.

By the time we left at 10 am, we had caught one Cerulean Warbler that was already banded (caught first last summer), and we coaxed one new bird into the net. Very exciting.

The bird is a stunner, and just as tiny as can be. Look sharp to see him in some of these photos!

I was afraid he would get away, so I held him close at first.

 

Male Cerulean Warbler, as docile as can be.

 

Hard to get good sun while standing in a forest

 

Beautiful, right?

 

5 responses »

  1. How beautiful! Birds always make me think of my grandparents. They always had seed out in the backyard, peanuts for the blue jays and cardinals. They lived in an area build in the 50’s in Toronto, so urban but bigger lots and mature trees. They would point out the different birds (nothing too uncommon, mostly finches, chickadees, sparrows, etc) but it was wonderful to me. My parents didn’t have the time to bother with watching birds in the backyard.

  2. I’m going to trot this right out to show Mom. She loves both birds and redheads, so this is perfect. As for the bird, was he a tad stunned by his capture? I can’t imagine him just sitting there like that. What a treat! (And thanks a lot for sharing.)

What do you think?

