Making Goals

Standard

My life was in a rut. I had been a stay-at-home mom for a few years. I lost my passion for what I used to do for work. I hadn’t figured out a new passion. I felt like I was getting rolled by technology. (Picture me standing in front of a large snowball going downhill gathering size and speed.)

I decided to take the bull by the horns. I made a goal to get myself together. I decided starting a blog would be a brilliant way to help me learn new technology (writing a blog, using a blog reader, improving photography skills, using photo editing software) while narrowing down what my true passions are. I challenged myself to one year/100 posts.

Guess what? It worked. Don’t get me wrong. I went through a dark phase where I felt totally lost. I felt scared, stupid, amateurish, unimportant and bored with it all. But I also learned the following:

* It’s ok to be a pretty good seamstress/knitter and not an expert/indie patternmaker/tutorial writer/book author

* It’s ok to have a wide variety of hobbies

* It’s ok to not do any hobby at all for weeks at a time

* As much as I love my hobbies and all the wonderful friends I’ve made through them, my hobbies are not my life’s passion. I will always enjoy knocking out a sweater, sewing up a quilt, and scrapbooking about my boy’s childhood. But I don’t want to have a job doing my hobbies.

* Writing is for me. When I stopped trying to impress, my blog was fun and helped me sort myself out.

* Just because I don’t have anything big and new to share with the world doesn’t mean I have nothing worthwhile to contribute

* I’m pretty clever to have figured out how to choose a blog host, use blogging software, add sidebars, upload photos, and so on. Yep. Pretty clever.

My big news is, I got a job. It’s part time. I still have a million issues to iron out with my child’s transition to adulthood, so 12 hours a week of work seems perfect. I don’t know if I will still blog, or still blog here about hobbies, or if I will stop by here from time to time and add posts. I am very proud of myself for trying it at all, despite how stupid my mother thinks blogging is.

3 responses »

  1. What great news! It’s hard to bring yourself out of a rut, so much safer to stay where you are. Three cheers for taking the steps to build your skill set and figure out what you do want. I like reading what you have to say, and you are right, you don’t need to be the best seamstress out there to have something to say.

  2. Congratulations on the job! And on being so brave in so many areas. Hearing you speak so candidly about your goings on and your goals is an inspiration 🙂

What do you think?